You Should Go To These Totally Obscure Bands’ Shows!

As it happens, I sometimes don’t get to go out and have a good time at a club in NYC. Yes, even I get sick and, rather than become exhausted and just make my body hate me more than it already does, I spend most of my non-work time sleeping… Actually, since I work overnights at a dog kennel, I spend most of my work hours sleeping too… So there ya’ go: my week has pretty much been me sleeping, and arguing with my head to stop hurting (to which it replies: I hate you!).
However, I won’t leave you article-less this week, but I haven’t really used the energy I have saved up for listening to bands and taking the time to write something… fairly thoughtful… about an indie band, even one I’ve been following for years.
My solution to this (and any other time I’m pretty unable to write about a band because life, being what it is, sometimes smacks you upside the head with a stop sign… or yield sign, as it were), is to tell you all about shows that the bands I follow have coming up, through the end of August.

So, in no particular order, other than the random placement on my myspace:

The Age of Rockets
Aug 29 2008 7:30P
Toquet Hall Westport, Connecticut

Caitlin Krisko & The Broadcast
Aug 22 2008 7:00P
Highline Ballroom NYC, New York

Glass Fence
Aug 20 2008 9:00P
Sadie Rene’s North Canton, Ohio
Aug 21 2008 8:00P
Bernie’s Distillery Columbus, Ohio
Aug 22 2008 8:00P
The Hidden Cove- BANDS NEEDED! Bourbonnais, Illinois
Aug 30 2008 8:00P
Rhino’s Youth Center Bloomington, Indiana

Gregory & The Hawk
Aug 22 2008 8:00P
Modern Formations Gallery (all ages) Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Aug 23 2008 7:00P
AV Aerie (all ages) Chicago, Illinois

Happy Anarchy
Aug 26 2008 8:00P
THE KHYBER Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Please Dept.
Aug 25 2008 9:00P
Goodbye Blue Monday Brooklyn, New York

Bess Rogers
Aug 27 2008 9:30P
Joe’s Pub w/ The Paper Raincoat! New York, New York

O’Death
Aug 28 2008 8:00P
Le Divan Orange Montreal, Quebec
Aug 29 2008 8:00P
Bar El Passo Saloon Rouyn-Noranda, Quebec
Aug 30 2008 8:00P
Bar El Passo Saloon Rouyn-Noranda, Quebec

Laura Cheadle
Aug 23 2008 6:45P
World Cafe Live
Beta Hi-Fi Festival Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Paral-lel
Aug 30 2008 8:00P
WoodsTower festival Miribel, Rhône-Alpes

Ingrid Michaelson
Aug 26 Anderson Center Binghamton, NY, USA
Aug 31 Bumbershoot Festival Seattle, WA, USA

Last Go
Aug 28 2008 8:00P
Purple Turtle LDN, London and South East

The Heavy Weather
Aug 20 2008 9:30P
Martini Red (film night-acoustic) Staten Island, New York
Aug 22 2008 10:00P
Martini Red with FULL Band. Staten Island, New York

Supermajor
Aug 26 2008 7:15P
Ace of Clubs New York, New York

Reviews of these bands coming soon, I swear!

-Jillers

Leave a Reply

