You Mean You Haven’t Heard of The Age of Rockets?

I was feeling slightly under the weather last week, yet I went to the Knitting Factory to see Julius C debut new songs, which have a distinctly more classic rock feel to them; I stayed out until 2 am and over-exerted myself, and have been feeling pretty lousy and sick since. The upside is that I very well may have spread my cold to the various people I hung out with at the Knitting Factory [it makes me feel like a super-villain] and listening to The Age of Rockets.

The Age of Rockets is about as close to classical music as you can get nowadays. I assume, but what people have said, that they have a sound in the vein of The Postal Service… I can’t confirm this, as I don’t look at things outside of my bubble… but I’m going to say that I’d probably like the Postal Service, and if you like them, you’ll like Age of Rockets.

You can buy their CDs and EP from iTunes and Amazon (and they are recommended on Amazon). I, personally, have Hannah, and many of the tracks are on my night-time playlist.

The songs will equally relax you, and make you want to dance, in a way, I think, only makes sense if you listen to the tracks.

On my iPod I have “Avada Kedavra” (from Hannah, not the EP… though I play the EP version often too). “Elephant & Castle,” “Actors/Ghosts,” and “H Soft Escape” are also high on my plalist right now, so check them out.

If you’re in the area, they have some shows coming up that you should check out:
October 6th at 6pm @ The Bowery Ballroom, NYC
October 21st, at 8:45 @ Hiro Ballroom, NYC

As cold medicine has seemed to turn my brain to mush, I will leave it here, recommend you see The Age of Rockets, or at least download their music to judge them, because I think they’re worth the listen, and everyone needs to just chill out from time to time with some innovative music.

Support the Gears of Rock

Leave a Reply

