Review: Wolves in the Throne Room – Black Cascade [2009]

Amazon WOlvesThrowback Pacific Northwestern trio Wolves in the Throne Room apply old fashioned recording techniques as well as the unit’s avid spiritual connection to nature to achieve black metal bliss on their latest four-track, 45-minute atmospheric excursion BLACK CASCADE. Using vintage gear to capture the rich tones protruding from the guitars on cuts like “Ex Cathedra,” this album’s majestic aura and dazzling ambient shifts prevail thanks to this recording being made on 2-inch tape, a method allowing the instruments to resonate with the depth and warmth digital cannot replicate. Reawakening the soul with a stirring blend of pagan ritual and melancholic malevolence, Black Cascade reveals a desperate cry to return back to a simpler life sans the value systems of modern society under a backdrop of tremolo-picked guitar and crashing drum mayhem. www.southernlord.comMike SOS

4 StarsWolves in the Throne Room is Nathan Weaver (Vocals/Guitar), Will Lindsay (Guitar/Backing Vocals/Bass), & Aaron Weaver (Drums).

Track Listing:

  1. “Wanderer Above the Sea of Fog”
  2. “Ahrimanic Trance”
  3. “Ex Cathedra”
  4. “Crystal Ammunition”

2 Responses to “Review: Wolves in the Throne Room – Black Cascade [2009]”

  1. […] GOR Recommendation: Wolves In The Throne Room – Black Cascade […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: