Review: Ignominious Incarceration – Of Winter Born [2009]

Amazon IgnominiousUK death metal mavens Ignominious Incarceration’s truncated technical torrents of dastardly death metal is bound to garner the quintet the well-deserved attention and accolades from those who appreciate bands who exercise the difficult task of balancing ferocity and brevity. Manning a full-on ambush with all of the expected death metal tactics and weaponry in tow, the path this neophytic unit follows seems a bit too well tread on the surface, but upon closer inspection this squad manages to expertly compose elements of old school devastation and beatdown deathcore together to coexist in utter disharmony (“In The Face of Absolution”), working in symbiosis in fighting the same battle to destroy at all costs. Explosive yet refined for such a young act, if you’ve ever pined for a cross between the brain-rattling dynamics of Suffocation and the warmongering malice of Amon Amarth (“Of Winter Born,” “Elusion of Mortality”), this band delivers. www.earache.comMike SOS

4 StarsIgnominious Incarceration is Andy Wardle (Vocals), Steve Brown (Guitar), Bobby Daniels (Guitar), Chris Ball (Bass), & Sam Bailey (Drums).

Track Listing:

  1. “Avarice”
  2. “Deeds of Days Long Gone”
  3. “Elegance in Aggression”
  4. “Saviour”
  5. “Of Winter Born”
  6. “Solitude”
  7. “Dynasty Damnation”
  8. “Tide of Pestilence”
  9. “In the Face of Absolution”
  10. “Elusion of Mortality”

GOR Recommendation: Brother Von Doom – Relentless


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: