Review: Daughtry – Leave This Town [2009]

Amazon DaughtryAmerican Idol runner up Chris Daughtry has released Leave This Town, his second mainstream rock album that will continue to please his fans as well as fans of Nickelback, Lifehouse, and the likes. You will not find any devastating riffs, thunderous drumming, rock and roll screams, or Slash. What you will find are pleasant sounding power chords and infectious hooks of joy.

Speaking of Nickelback, Chad Kroeger lends his voice to the single “No Surprise,” which makes little sense since he sounds very similar to Daughtry. “Every Time You Turn Around” contains a drum intro and overall feel that is nearly identical to Fall Out Boy’s “Sugar, We’re Going Down.” For those of you that dig the emo sound, will probably enjoy the guitars employed on “What I Meant to Say.” The most interesting song on the album is the acoustic country track “Tennessee Line” that features country star Vince Gill on backing vocals.

It is clear that Daughtry is a very talented singer, however he needs to break free from the mainstream influences that make nearly all the songs indistinguishable and present himself as the genuine hard rock frontman that he is capable of being. –Meds

2 StarsDaughtry is Chris Daughtry (Vocals), Josh Steely (Lead Guitar), Brian Craddock (Rhythm Guitar), Josh “JP” Paul (Bass), & Joey Barnes (Drums).

Track Listing:

  1. “You Don’t Belong”
  2. “No Surprise”
  3. “Every Time You Turn Around”
  4. “Life After You”
  5. “What I Meant To Say”
  6. “Open Up Your Eyes”
  7. “September”
  8. “Ghost of Me”
  9. “Learn My Lesson”
  10. “Supernatural”
  11. Tennessee Line”
  12. “Call Your Name”

GOR Recommendation: Green Day – 21st Century Breakdown


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: