Review: Devil’s Whorehouse – Blood & Ashes [2009]

Amazon Devils WhorehouseDevils Whorehouse unashamedly mimic virtually every significant nuance from the Danzig playbook, starting with the rebel punk of The Misfits, bridging into the experimental discord of Samhain before culminating with a hybrid of the multitude of sounds from Glenn’s eponymous offerings through the years, so if you’re looking for something original, you’ve been warned. If you want to hear worship and tribute done to perfection (by a band who were once a Misfits/Samhain cover band no less) however, this Swedish squad’s admirable affection of the works of the Evil Elvis is spot-on, covering all eras faithfully while producing an uncanny vocal likeness that this lot (featuring members of Marduk) nail down with howling furies intact. In fairness, this crew conveys a bit more than blind Danzig homages, as their admirable death ‘n roll packs a wallop here as well, but BLOOD & ASHES‘ most glaring point of reference precariously sits as its biggest strength and crippling weakness. www.regainrecords.comMike SOS

2 StarsDevils Whorehouse is Valentin Maelstrom (Vocals), Makko (Guitar), Morgan HÃ¥kansson (Bass), & Hrafn (Drums).

Track Listing:

  1. “Oceans Turn To Blood”
  2. “Wicked One”
  3. “Speak the Name of the Dead”
  4. “The Cult of Death”
  5. “Werewolf”
  6. “Demons of the Flesh/Tight White Ropes”
  7. “Shadows Never Change”
  8. “Smell of the Ancient Ones”
  9. “Face the Master”
  10. “Werewolf Nation”
  11. “Snakes Out the Mouth of Hell”
  12. “Let The Day Begin”

GOR Recommendation: Hatebreed – For The Lions


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: