Review: Arise – The Reckoning [2009]

Amazon AriseSwedish death thrash outfit Arise provide 10-tracks of straight from the textbook Gothenburg-style metal on THE RECKONING. Despite this nimble quintet’s far from groundbreaking delivery, the spot-on fury (“No Memory of Light”) and enormous arsenal of breakneck riffs and melodic breaks they employ are cleverly composed with a well-proportioned mix of familiar twists and meat and potatoes mashings, which effortlessly fuses The Haunted and In Flames (“End of Days”). Exhibiting metalcore sensibilities with a reverence for the genre’s pioneers in mind, the latest from Arise is a solid and satisfying affair whose unwavering by the numbers approach rings out with sinister sincerity. www.regainrecords.comMike SOS

3 StarsArise is Patrik Johansson (Vocals), Sternberg (Guitar), L-G Jonasson (Guitar), Kaj (Bass), & Daniel Bugno (Drums).

Track Listing:

  1. “Adrenaline Rush”
  2. “No Memory of Light”
  3. “Blindead”
  4. “They Are Coming for You”
  5. “Pitch Black”
  6. “Reckoning”
  7. “Reclaiming the Soul”
  8. “Fury”
  9. “Dead Silence”
  10. “End of Days”

GOR Recommends: Heaven & Hell – The Devil You Know


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: