Archive for October 14, 2009

NZA’s Review: Kiss – Sonic Boom [2009]

Posted in Kiss with tags on October 14, 2009 by gearsofrock

Amazon KissI can’t say that I underestimated Kiss before listening to Sonic Boom maybe just “underexpected” (my new word) them. That’s all gone now. Raise up your horns kiddies and let the ol’ Knights in Satan’s Service take you on a nice and rockin’ ride! Sonic Boom reinvents Kiss and brings a whole new respect of the band personally for me.

They follow the formula that best suits them: Keep it Simple, stupid! Tracks like “Never Enough” and “Stand” make me forget that its 2009 and feel like im listening to the vintage Kiss records of the 70’s.

Ace Frehley and Peter Criss aren’t here and for the first time, I really don’t miss them. Eric Singer provides the big BANG Kiss needs while Tommy Thayer rips and shreds like the bastard nephew of Ace Frehley, Bruce Kulick, and Vinnie Vincent.

“I’ve got the power any hour, baby, feel my tower of power” is the poetry of Gene Simmons and he is the only one that could get away with sayin’ it (“Hot & Cold”). Paul Stanley still does his “ooooohs” and “ahhhhhs” and I could just see him strutting his stuff playing along to these tunes.

All in all, Sonic Boom is the best stuff the originators of the rock n roll circus have to offer in merely two decades. Welcome back Kiss and I am sure, not that Sonic Boom helped, you will be inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall Of Fame before your tour is “officially” over -NZA

3 StarsKiss is Paul Stanley (Vocals/Guitars), Tommy Thayer (Guitars/Vocals), Gene Simmons (Bass/Vocals), & Eric Singer (Drums/Vocals).

Sonic Boom is available exclusively at Wal-mart in a 2 disc+ 1 DVD set. Disc 2 is Klassic Kiss hits rerecorded w/ Eric Singer and Tommy Thayer and the DVD is Kiss Live in Buenos Aires. 3 discs for under $15 bucks ain’t that bad. OHHHHHHHHHHH YEAH!!!!!!

Track Listing:

  1. “Modern Day Delilah”
  2. “Russian Roulette”
  3. “Never Enough”
  4. “Yes I Know (Nobody’s Perfect)”
  5. “Stand”
  6. “Hot and Cold”
  7. “All for the Glory”
  8. “Danger Us”
  9. “I’m an Animal”
  10. “When Lightning Strikes”
  11. “Say Yeah!”

Read Meds’ review of Sonic Boom