Review: Joe Satriani – Live in Paris: I Just Wanna Rock [2010]

Live in Paris: I just Wanna Rock is Joe Satriani’s fourth live album, an enchanting double-disc assortment of his greatest hits from a May 2008 performance.

The overall mix, sound, and Satch’s technical guitarmanship are perfect as usual. All of the big ones are here, “Ice 9,” “Summer Song,” “Satch Boogie,” “Flying in a Blue Dream,” “Always With Me Always With You,” “Surfing With the Alien,” and more.

“I Just Wanna Rock” from 08’s Professor Satchefunkilus and the Musterion of Rock is a cheesy live opener (no need for the chants), no doubt about it, and the worst part of the album. A far better subtitle could have been chosen for this record as well.

Live in Paris, like all of Satch’s work is great driving music. You don’t need to be a stuck-up guitar nerd or music school snob to appreciate his art. And most importantly, this is not Chickenfoot, yuck.

Joe Satriani is Joe Satriani (Lead Guitars), Galen Henson (Rhythm Guitar), Stuart Hamm (Bass), & Jeff Campitelli (Drums).

Track Listing:

Disc 1

  1. “I Just Wanna Rock”
  2. “Overdriver”
  3. “Satch Boogie”
  4. “Ice 9”
  5. “Diddle-Y-A-Doo-Dat”
  6. “Flying In A Blue Dream”
  7. “Ghosts”
  8. “Revelation”
  9. “Super Collosal”
  10. “One Big Rush”
  11. “Musterion”
  12. “Out Of The Sunrise”

Disc 2

  1. “Time Machine”
  2. “Cool #9”
  3. “Andalusia”
  4. “Bass Solo”
  5. “Cryin'”
  6. “The Mystical Potato Head Groove Thing”
  7. “Always with Me, Always with You”
  8. “Surfing with the Alien”
  9. “Crowd Chant”
  10. “Summer Song”


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: