Review: Black Robot – Black Robot [2010]

Oh yeah! Bringing on some more sleaze-pleasing hard rocking music in 2010 is Black Robot, a new and mighty project featuring three former members of Buckcherry.

This album features all of the main ingredients that classic hard rock fans worship—the dirtbag lyrics, the badass guitar riffs, stomping beats, and infectious heavy grooves that will have your fists pumping on the steering wheel within the first three seconds.  The fact of the matter is Black Robot rocks really fucking hard!

The band’s sound pays homage to all of the greats;  from AC/DC (cover of Eric Clapton’s “Cocaine”), Jimi Hendrix (“Mamma Don’t Cry”), Black Crowes (“Stop the World”), Led Zeppelin (“I’m in Love”),  Black Sabbath (“23 Days of Night) to The Rolling Stones angst and The Beatles harmonic grace.

One of the best qualities of this album is that almost every track clocks in under four minutes, with six tunes under three minutes.  This is exactly how rock and roll music was meant to be; nothing but balls.  You won’t find any wasteful moments on Black Robot.

Black Robot is Huck Johns (Vocals), Jonathan “JB” Brightman (Bass), Andy Andersson (Guitar), Staffan Österlind (Guitar), & Possum Hill (Drums).

Track Listing:

  1. “Badass”
  2. “Cocaine”
  3. “Momma Don’t Cry”
  4. “Girls Kissing Girls”
  5. “Money”
  6. “I’m in Love”
  7. “In My Car”
  8. “Black Robot”
  9. “Love on a .45”
  10. “Dissatisfaction”
  11. “23 Days of Night”
  12. “Stop the World”
  13. “Nervous Breakdown”


Black Robot will be released on April 13, 2010 by Formosa Records.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: