Archive for Alternative Rock

Track Review: Stone Temple Pilots “Between The Lines” Stone Temple Pilots [2010]

Posted in Stone Temple Pilots with tags on March 31, 2010 by gearsofrock

Stone Temple Pilots present a stinky heap of rhino feces on their latest single, “Between The Lines,” from the upcoming self-titled release.

It sounds like Scott Weiland and company were going for a brilliantly crude hard rock sound, similar to their classic album Tiny Music.  Unfortunately, the less than 3 minute track misses that mark, almost entirely.

The drum beat is exhaustively repetitive, and not in the likes of “Vasoline’s” awesome redundancy, but flat-out boring.

Conceptually, “Between The Lines” is not Weiland’s best.  The content focuses around the concept of love being the most important part of life even when taking drugs.  The lyrics, in typical STP fashion, offer many drug-inspired images like magic planes, penguins, and smiling crocodiles.

There was a time when Weiland was on his way to becoming one of the greatest frontman of all-time.  His stage swagger and commanding presence put him on path to Jagger-dom.  Perhaps, that day will return but seems unlikely on this effort.

“Between The Lines” is not all bad though.  Guitarist Dean DeLeo provides a silver lining as he delivers a forceful guitar solo that salvages the track from epic failure.

Let’s see what STP has in store on the rest of the album.  Who knows?  Maybe we’ve heard the worst track, or maybe this was the best.  The self-titled release is scheduled to debut on May 25, 2010 on Atlantic Records.

Stone Temple Pilots are Scott Weiland (Vocals), Dean DeLeo (Guitars), Robert DeLeo (Bass), & Eric Kretz (Drums).

NZA’s Review: Weezer – Raditude [2009]

Posted in Weezer with tags on October 28, 2009 by gearsofrock

Amazon WeezerRadOh boy! You are either gonna love or hate this. I love it. Weezer serves up a great mix of pop and rock on Raditude. Tapping into an infectious groove somewhat reminiscent of Katrina and The Waves’ “Walking on Sunshine,” the first track and single “(If Your Wondering If I Want You To) I Want You To” makes you smile and toe tap the night away. It doesn’t stop there, not by a long shot. Rivers Cuomo, with a little help from some friends, taps into his inner most nerd (although he has never hidden that from us) “ooohing and ahhhing” on “The Girl Got Hot.” Tight and snapping rhythm is key provided by the  teammanship of Pat Wilson and Scott Shriner. Don’t worry Brian Bell fans, his presence is felt every so much on key track “Let It All Hang Out,” which also pays homage to a night on the town with the fellas. Obscurity sets in on the disco-esque “Can’t Stop Partying” which even taps into a rap interlude in the middle. “Love is The Answer” has beautiful sitar and amazing harmony work on it that gives “Jai-Ho” from Slumdog Millionaire a run for its money. Weezer, for me, really hasn’t lost a step and continues to entertain my inner most nerd (which i hide well until i open my mouth) –NZA

3.5 Stars Weezer is Rivers Cuomo (Vocals/Guitar), Brian Bell (Guitar/Vocals), Scott Shriner (Bass/Vocals), & Pat Wilson (Drums/Vocals).

Track Listing:

  1. “(If You’re Wondering If I Want You To) I Want You To”
  2. “I’m Your Daddy”
  3. “The Girl Got Hot”
  4. “Can’t Stop Partying”
  5. “Put Me Back Together”
  6. “Tripping Down The Freeway”
  7. “Love Is The Answer”
  8. “Let It All Hang Out”
  9. “In The Mall”
  10. “I Don’t Let You Go”

GOR Recommends Alice in Chains Black Gives Way To Blue

Review: Alice In Chains – Black Gives Way To Blue [2009]

Posted in Alice In Chains with tags on September 28, 2009 by gearsofrock

Amazon AICSeattle rock pioneers Alice in Chains are back with their first studio album in 14 years and since the death of frontman Layne Staley in 2002. The band enlisted seasoned professional and Staley sound-alike William DuVall in 2007 to steer the ship.

Black Gives Way To Blue features the band’s signature alternative sludge grooves, unusual uplifting tones, and lyrics that appropriately speak of a long overdue new beginning on “All Secrets Known.”

Of the eleven tracks, some of the major stand outs are the acoustic driven “Your Decision”  — imagine a happier rendition of “Down in a Hole” — and “When The Sun Rose Again,” serving as the “Heaven Beside You” of the album.

For those that still yearn for sweaty flannel-filled mosh pits, the gloomy “Acid Bubble” and “A Looking in View” are right up your alley.

DuVall’s vocal performance proves to be an adequate replacement for Staley, exceeding expectations of quality, capability, and image. He is no Brian Johnson to Bon Scott, but he does make the group better for what they are today.

As for the rest of the band, Jerry Cantrell reclaims his throne as a guitar god and great vocalist, Mike Inez rocks the bass as if he is still in his 20’s, and Sean Kinney is the premier drummer he has always been. The survey says: Black Gives Way To Blue was worth waiting for. In other words, this record makes Chinese Democracy eat sh*t.

3.5 StarsAlice in Chains is William DuVall (Vocals/Guitar), Jerry Cantrell (Guitar/Vocals), Mike Inez (Bass), & Sean Kinney (Drums).

Track Listing:

  1. “All Secrets Known”
  2. “Check My Brain”
  3. “Last of My Kind”
  4. “Your Decision”
  5. “A Looking in View”
  6. “When The Sun Rose Again”
  7. “Acid Bubble”
  8. “Lesson Learned”
  9. “Take Her Out”
  10. “Private Hell”
  11. “Black Gives Way To Blue”

Review: Jane’s Addiction – A Cabinet Of Curiosities [2009]

Posted in Jane's Addiction with tags on April 20, 2009 by gearsofrock

amazon-jaOver the last 12 years, Jane’s Addiction has practically exhausted the compilation practice by offering the mostly live album Kettle Whistle [1997], Up From The Catacombs: The Best of Jane’s Addiction [2006], and now A Cabinet Of Curiosities, consisting of demos, live material, and outakes from their first two studio albums. At nearly $50, this 3 disc/1 DVD set proves to be a waste of hard earned money despite the fact that there are several entertaining elements within this set—frontman Perry Farrell offers interesting drug induced stage banter during “Aint No Right” and the Radio Tokyo Demo of “Mountain Song” carries a rough-around-the-edges mix on the classic track. The DVD contains the music videos of Jane’s Addiction as well as the bizarre Farrell love story, Gift. Jane’s Addiction is a legendary and pioneering alternative rock band held in very high esteem due to the genius of the albums Nothing Shocking [1988] and Ritual de lo Habitual [1990]. However, it is 2009. With the original lineup back together, grant us some brand new hard-charged material, don’t we deserve that?

Review: Pearl Jam – Ten Deluxe Edition [2009]

Posted in Pearl Jam with tags on March 27, 2009 by gearsofrock

pearljamOne of the greatest rock and roll bands from the early 90’s is undoubtedly Pearl Jam, featuring frontman Eddie Vedder, lead guitarist Mike McCreedy, the rhythm guitars of Stone Gossard, bassist Jeff Ament, and drummer Matt Cameron. As part of their upcoming 20 year anniversary celebration, the Seattle rockers recently re-released their landmark record Ten Deluxe Edition with revamped mixes of all the classics. Long-time producer Brenden O’Brien offers a fresh remastering on classic cuts “Why Go,” “Once,” and b-side favorite “Breath” to name a few highlights. This is one of the few re-releases worth picking up. A-