Archive for Glam Metal

Track Review: Bret Michaels “Nothing to Lose” Custom Built [2010]

Posted in Bret Michaels, Poison with tags on February 23, 2010 by gearsofrock

Update July 6: Read the Custom Built album review here

Poison frontman and reality star Bret Michaels offers brand new solo material with the single “Nothing to Lose,” from his upcoming album Custom Built.  Hold it hard rock fans, don’t get too excited because this track is more Goo Goo Dolls than “Look What the Cat Dragged in.”

Yes, it is a slow ballad but not in the same manner as “Every Rose Has it’s Thorn,” or even “Stand” for that matter; those classic tunes have some balls and power behind them. This track is irritatingly sappy and seems like it is catering to the female television viewers he picked up from the Rock of Love days.

Okay, it is not that terrible of a song, but I can hardly stomach numbers like this anymore. You know how these tunes go; lyrics like “if I fall for you, could you fall for me?,” insert vomit here, and add a mildly waltz-y feel.

Typically, I enjoy Michaels’ solo material, even 2003’s Songs of Life (believe it or not) but this one just doesn’t do it, not today.  However I can say that the John Mayer and Lifehouse adoring radio stations are going to eat this up.

Bret Michaels “Nothing to Lose”

Track Review: Ratt “Best of Me” Infestation [2010]

Posted in Ratt with tags on February 16, 2010 by gearsofrock

Blazing riffs, thunderous drums, melodramatic lead guitars, and heavy fist pumping dominate the latest single “Best of Me” by legendary Whiskey-era hard rockers Ratt. Frontman Stephen Pearcy belts out the anthemic melodies and infectious choral lines like it is 1984. These core ingredients blend together and form an undeniable and timeless sense of Sunset Strip debauchery.

Compared to their bluesier self-titled album from 1999, the upcoming Infestation will most likely represent a return to Ratt’s glam metal roots. Perhaps the new partnership with Roadrunner Records rekindled a much needed fire? (I prefer to think that it was the classic “Round and Round” bar scene from The Wrestler). The familiarity of “Best of Me” will be a welcomed change by long time fans.

After surviving several breakups, the death of guitarist Robbin Crosby, a recent and brief stint with John Corabi, and Juan Croucier’s refusal to participate in the reunion, Ratt adds the powerful guitar talent of Carlos Cavazo (Quiet Riot) and returns veteran Robbie Crane (Vince Neil’s band/Bobby Dall’s ex-tech) to bass duty.

Ratt is Stephen Pearcy (Vocals), Warren DeMartini (Guitars), Carlos Cavazo (Guitars), Robbie Crane (Bass), & Bobby Blotzer (Drums).

Infestation due out April 20, 2010 on Roadrunner Records.


Twisted Sister “30” Music Video On Yahoo

Posted in Twisted Sister with tags on July 5, 2009 by gearsofrock–217250355

My only problem: No make-up during the performance of the song. The 25th anniversary of Stay Hungry is a reason to add more glam, not less. However, the archival footage is awesome as is the part when Dee Snider grabs the bone.

New Release of the Week: Twisted Sister “Stay Hungry 25th Anniversary Edition”

Posted in Twisted Sister with tags on June 30, 2009 by gearsofrock

Amazon Twisted Sister StayThe new rock release of the week is Twisted Sister’s Stay Hungry, a double-disc celebration of the album’s 25th anniversary. Disc one features the remastered classic cuts (“SMF” still has the greatest groove of the bunch) and the second disc contains demos, outtakes, unreleased tracks, and a new song.

“30,” the first brand new track in 11 years opens with an aggressive drum and wah assault. Featuring a very twisted country and blues vibe, it could represent a new direction for the band’s future releases. Unlike Bret Michaels’ lame country effort, Twisted Sister knows how to bring their own identity and edge to the genre (Hear “30” on MySpace).

Twisted Sister is still Dee Snider (Vocals), Eddie Ojeda (Lead Guitar), Jay Jay French (Rhythm Guitar), Mark Mendoza (Bass), & A.J. Pero (Drums).

Track Listing (Disc 1):

  1. “Stay Hungry”
  2. “We’re Not Gonna Take It”
  3. “Burn In Hell”
  4. “Horror-Teria (The Beginning)”
  5. “Captain Howdy”
  6. “Street Justice”
  7. “I Wanna Rock”
  8. “The Price”
  9. “Don’t Let Me Down”
  10. “The Beast”
  11. “S.M.F.”

Track Listing (Disc 2):

  1. “Death From Above”
  2. “Prime Motivator”
  3. “We’re Not Gonna Take It [Early Demo version]”
  4. “Death Run”
  5. “This One’s For You”
  6. “S.M.F. [Early Demo version]”
  7. “We’re Coming On”
  8. “Call My Name”
  9. “Burn In Hell [Early Demo version]”
  10. “Pay The Price”
  11. “What’s Love Without You”
  12. “Our Voice Will Be Heard”
  13. “You Got To Fight”
  14. “The Price [Early Demo version]”
  15. “Stay Hungry [Early Demo version]”
  16. “Radio Spot”
  17. “30 ­[New Track]”

Read the GOR review of “A Twisted Christmas on Broadway” from Dec. 2008.